General Article Devolved government in the UK

Topic Selected: Citizenship in the UK
This article is 9 years old. Click here to view the latest articles for this topic.


Scotland has a parliament based in Edinburgh. There are 129 members of the Scottish Parliament. They are elected every four years on the additional member system of proportional representation. The current political composition can be found on the Scottish Parliament’s website.

The Parliament operates broadly on the Westminster model, electing a First Minister who heads an executive. Its 18 members form a cabinet who manage the £30 billion budget in the areas where the Scottish Parliament has devolved powers. These areas include most aspects of domestic, economic and social policy. The UK Parliament retains control of foreign affairs, defence and national security, macro-economic and fiscal matters, employment and social security. The Scottish Parliament can pass primary legislation in those areas over which it has responsibility. A list of these areas can be found on the Scottish Government’s website.

Scotland is funded by a block grant (decided on the basis of the ‘Bar...

Would you like to see the rest of this article and all the other benefits that Issues Online can provide with?

Sign up now for an immediate no obligation FREE TRIAL and view the entire collection