General Article EU facts: United Kingdom

Topic Selected: Citizenship in the UK
This article is 9 years old. Click here to view the latest articles for this topic.

It is made up of England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland, which has a land border with the Republic of Ireland. The national languages are English and Welsh. Britain also has several Crown dependencies and overseas territories, including Gibraltar and the Falkland Islands. Britain is the world’s sixth largest economy and has a permanent seat on the United Nations’ Security Council.


Recent history

In recent decades, British politics has undergone repeated transformations. The election of a centre-right Conservative Government led by Margaret Thatcher in 1979 started a process of reform marked by the privatisation of many state industries and the rapid decline of the trade union movement. In 1990, Thatcher was replaced as Prime Minister by John Major who continued the same broad programme.

After 18 years of Conservative power, a centre-left Labour Government, led by Tony Blair, was elected in 1997. Labour came to power pledging reform of public services and closer relation...

Would you like to see the rest of this article and all the other benefits that Issues Online can provide with?

Sign up now for an immediate no obligation FREE TRIAL and view the entire collection