General Article Vegetarian health Q&A

Topic Selected: Dietary Choices
This article is 9 years old. Click here to view the latest articles for this topic.

What is a vegetarian?

A vegetarian is someone who doesn’t eat meat, fish, poultry or any animal by-products such as gelatine. Vegetarians eat grains, pulses, nuts, seeds, fruit and vegetables, eggs, milk and dairy products. Vegetarians who don’t eat any dairy products or eggs are called vegans.

At what age is it safe to become a vegetarian?

A vegetarian diet is suitable for all ages. However, vegetarian diets are low in vitamin D, vitamin B12 and retinols (the animal form of vitamin A).

Sources of vitamin D include margarines and fortified breakfast cereals. Sources of vitamin B12 include fortified breakfast cereals and some yeast extracts such as Marmite. Sources of vitamin A include dairy products, margarines, carrots and dark green vegetables (for example, spinach, cabbage and broccoli).

Children also need protein and iron to grow and develop. Eggs, nuts (don’t give whole nuts to children under five, as they could choke), pulses (such as beans, lentils and peas) and foods ma...

Would you like to see the rest of this article and all the other benefits that Issues Online can provide with?

Sign up now for an immediate no obligation FREE TRIAL and view the entire collection