General Article What are the different stages of sleep?

Topic Selected: Sleep Book Volume: 389

By Daniel Hoyle

You may have heard the terms REM phase of sleep, sleep cycle and sleep stage discussed before, but perhaps not fully understood what they mean or why they’re important.

Understanding the five stages of sleep is essential as each stage benefits your body differently, from memory consolidation to cell repair to hormone regulation. And, a healthy sleep routine is not just about getting enough hours of shut-eye; it’s also about fully experiencing the five sleep stages every night.

So, what are the different stages of sleep, how are they characterised and why are they important? In this blog post, we’re going to tackle those questions and share our tips on how you can improve your sleep cycle.

What are the five stages of sleep?

Stage 1:

The first stage of sleep is the lightest and is often considered the transitional phase. It also tends to be one of the shortest sleep stages, as most people will remain in stage one for no more than ten minutes. During phase one, you’re e...

Would you like to see the rest of this article and all the other benefits that Issues Online can provide with?

Sign up now for an immediate no obligation FREE TRIAL and view the entire collection