General Article Drug policy: legislation, strategies and economic analysis

Topic Selected: Drugs
This article is 9 years old. Click here to view the latest articles for this topic.


The United Kingdom consists of England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. England accounts for 84% of the UK population. A number of powers have been devolved from the United Kingdom Parliament to Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland, but each has different levels of devolved responsibilities.

The Misuse of Drugs Act 1971 is the principal legislation in the United Kingdom with respect to the control and supply of drugs that are considered dangerous or otherwise harmful when misused. This Act divides such drugs into three Classes (A, B and C) to broadly reflect their relative harms and sets maximum criminal penalties for possession, supply and production in relation to each class. Drugs in Class A include cocaine, ecstasy, LSD, magic mushrooms, heroin, methadone, methylamphetamine and injectable amphetamine. Class B drugs include amphetamine, barbiturates, cannabis and, since April 2010, cathinones including mephedrone. Class C drugs include anabolic steroids, tran...

Would you like to see the rest of this article and all the other benefits that Issues Online can provide with?

Sign up now for a no obligation FREE TRIAL and view the entire collection